The Value of My Time

CNN reports:

In a typical family sedan, every 10 miles per hour you drive over 60 is like the price of gasoline going up about 54 cents a gallon. That figure will be even higher for less fuel-efficient vehicles that go fewer miles on a gallon to start with…

I have contemplated this concept many times during my commute as it consists of mostly highway driving where the speed limit is 70 miles per hour. I have a 6-month-old son at home and when I am not spending time with him (and my wife), I am teaching, studying, doing research, reading, blogging, or catching up on the world of sports. Any time spent otherwise is time away from these activities. In other words, since I highly value my time, I am not willing to spend a great deal of time doing things that detract from these activities. While I have never taken the time to figure out precisely how much it would cost me to slow down, it is undoubtedly not enough to compensate for the lost time.

HT: Environmental Economics

3 responses to “The Value of My Time

  1. No kidding. I can’t stand how some people will spend so much time to save so little money. People really need to calculate the value of their time.

  2. Tammy Giesbrecht

    How much is a person’s time worth? It looks like I am not the only one asking.

    I spent too much time trying to “sort out” an investors mistake …. writing letters to head office, phone calls i.e. time away from “my family, my time.”
    How could I calculate the worth of this time for compensation they are offering me?
    Thanks if you can help. And of course, thank you very much for your time. Tammy

  3. Pingback: Self-Publishing A Novel: Choosing a Self-Publishing Company

Leave a Reply

