Present or Past Tense?

I was in the middle of writing this morning when I wrote “monetarists emphasize” before instinctively changing it to “monetarists emphasized”. Should it be present or past tense? In other words, are there any monetarists left (besides myself and a few notable exceptions)?

29 responses to “Present or Past Tense?

  1. Of course there are moneyists around. Half our government policies for its income is based on this philosophy, and it ain’t all bad although there are better ways to collect money for the public purse. So I find your question provacative and unserious.

  2. Personally, I think it’s a good question. It’s David Chester’s comment about “moneyists” that I find “provacative and unserious”.

    So much of what was once thought of as being especially “monetarist” has now been absorbed by the mainstream New Keynesians for example that it no longer seems distinctively “monetarist”. Vertical LRPC, and the idea that inflation should be the responsibility of monetary policy, are two examples. So when we think of “monetarism” now, we only think of those bits of monetarism that didn’t stand the test of time so well, like the k% rule.

    Fish don’t feel the water they swim in?

    The hegemony that need not speak its name?

    But Stephen Williamson has now coined the term “New Monetarism”!
    http://newmonetarism.blogspot.com/

  3. Nick,

    I am not sure I like New Monetarism.

    First, I don’t like search models of monetary exchange. I do not search out others for trade, but rather using money to avoid such search.

    Second, labels do get tedious, but I think that New Monetarism is reaching. In their overview, Williamson and Wright do not have a single citation to Brunner and Meltzer, who were the two predominant Monetarist theorists.

    Also, critiques of Old Monetarism accepted by New Monetarists are levied by folks like Neil Wallace who argue that Old Monetarists didn’t take into account fiscal policy, etc. However, he wrote those papers in the early 1980s and Brunner and Meltzer’s paper in Monetarism, published in 1976 explicitly addresses these issues.

    In other words, there seems to be some grain of truth to New Monetarism, but I just cannot get on board.

  4. Superb blog you have here but I was wondering if you knew of
    any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get opinions from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks!

  5. We stumbled over here coming from a different page and thought we would check out a few articles.
    We like what we see so now we are following you. Looking forward
    to looking over your new posts for a second time.

  6. We stumbled over here coming from a different website
    and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to finding out about your web page again.

  7. I constantly emailed this web-site post page to all my contacts, for the reason that if like to read it after that my acquaintances will too.

  8. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  9. Amazing points altogether, you simply received a new reader.
    What might you recommend in regards to your article that you
    just made a few days in the past? Any sure?

  10. Hello would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded
    your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a honest price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  11. I visit day-to-day some web sites and sites to read
    articles, except this webpage offers quality based writing.

  12. I pay a quick visit everyday some sites and blogs to read content, except this web site gives quality based content.

  13. Interesting read, especially comment number six I think. Hopefully I’ll remember it.

  14. I like the helpful informatikn you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite certain I will learn plenty of new stuff riyht
    here! Best of luck for the next!

  15. Excellent article! We will be linking to this great post on our website.

    Keep up the good writing.

  16. Hello! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if
    that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  17. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for 1

  18. Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and
    design. Excellent choice of colors!

  19. As a result, the ASUS UL30A has a life of the battery of
    up to 7 hours using the 8 cell battery. While ASUS has acknowledged
    that some in the problems exist, they haven’t yet commented on others.

  20. My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea becaause of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerouss websites for about a year and am
    concerned about switching to anothr platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  21. Eine hörbare Geschichte des Autors Ralf Schlatter erweckt Museumsgegenstände zum Leben.

  22. Ebenso kann ein liebevoll dekorierter Tisch sowie nett angeordnetes Essen auf dem Teller bei
    den Kindern Spielfreude erwecken.

  23. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass dauerhaftes schlank sein nur mit einem Minimum an Verboten und bewusstem Platz für Genuss möglich ist.

  24. Eine gesunde Ernährung am Arbeitsplatz ist vor allen Dingen eins:
    Sie ist schnell gemacht und liegt nicht schwer im Magen.

  25. Intervalltraining baut auch die aerobe Kraft und Ausdauer auf,
    weil es das Atmungssystem auf einem sehr hohen Niveau fordert.

  26. Irgendwie enttäuschend ist, da meine erst kürzlich verstorbenen Großeltern beide
    fit, gesund und selbstständig fast 100 geworden sind.

  27. Des weiteren betreiben sehr viele Menschen Menschen Fitness, um ihren Körper fit
    zu halten.

  28. Wenn du gesund abnehmen möchtest, solltest du auf eine ausgewogene Ernährung achten.

  29. So ist es beispielsweise normal, bei Aufregung einen höheren Blutdruck zu
    haben, ganz ohne dass krankhafter Bluthochdruck vorliegt.

Leave a comment